Wherry yachts Norada and Hathor will be opening to visitors.

10 August 2017

As part of the England-wide 'Heritage Open Days' event 7-10 Sep 2017, wherry yachts Norada and Hathor will be opening to visitors.

NORADA: The Museum of the Broads, The Staithe, Stalham, Norfolk, NR12 9DA

Open to visitors on Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th  September from 10am until 5pm.

Access: the wherry yacht is an historic vessel with difficult access for those with limited mobility. The exterior of the vessel can be viewed from the quayside. Volunteers are on hand ashore to talk about the boat.

Directions:The Museum of the Broads is well signposted from the A149 passing through Stalham, next to Richardsons Boatyard.

Norada is a 53 foot wherry yacht that was built in 1912 by famous Wroxham boatbuilder Ernest Collins to join his fleet of hire craft. The boat was hired out, complete with skipper and steward, until the 1950s when she passed into private ownership. During her visit to the Museum of the Broads, she will be open for members of the public to view her above and below decks and to meet the volunteers who sail and maintain her.

Now cared for by the Wherry Yacht Charter Charitable Trust (WYC), Norada has been extensively restored to full sailing condition and, along with their four other wherries the WYC operates a programme of sailings open to members of the public (charges apply) as well as private charters for families and groups, just what she was built for!

WYC skippers and crew are all volunteers and the Trust welcomes interest from anyone who would like to learn how to sail these iconic vessels or help in any other way to keep the only fleet of Norfolk Wherries sailing into the future.

HATHOR: How Hill Trust, How Hill House, How Hill Road, Ludham, Norfolk, NR29 5PG

Open to visitors on Thursday 7th, Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th  September from 10am until 5pm.

Access: HATHOR is a historic vessel with difficult access for those with limited mobility. The exterior of the vessel can be viewed from the riverside. Volunteers are on hand ashore to talk about the boat.

Directions: How Hill House is well signposted from the village of Ludham. The House overlooks the river Ant where HATHOR will be moored adjacent to Toad Hole Cottage, which is signed from the House Car Park and is a short walk down to the riverside.

HATHOR is the magnificent Edwardian Pleasure Wherry built in 1905 for Ethel and Helen Colman, two of the daughters of the founder of the Colman Mustard Company. 


HATHOR will be moored at the staithe at How Hill, the equally magnificent home of her designer, famous Norfolk architect Edward Boardman. The House will also be open on certain days.

Now part of the last fleet of Norfolk Wherries and cared for by the Wherry Yacht Charter Charitable Trust(WYC), HATHOR was relaunched in 2015 after several years of restoration work, with a rededication ceremony at How Hill conducted by the Trust’s patron, the Bishop of Norwich.

WYC skippers and crew are all volunteers and the Trust welcomes interest from anyone who would like to learn how to sail these iconic vessels or help in any other way to keep the only fleet of Norfolk Wherries sailing into the future.

< Back

Region news headlines

Wherry yachts Norada and Hathor will be opening to visitors.

Historic Vessels to take part in Heritage Open Days

Lowestoft Ferry Skipper wanted for 2017 season

Skipper wanted for the new season of the Lowestoft Ferry service

Major national grant to enhance arts, culture and heritage in Lowestoft and Great Yarmouth

Making Waves Together - Reimagining the Seaside Towns of Lowestoft and Great Yarmouth

Read all our news »

Contact us

Shipshape symbol Shipshape Network
Park Row, Greenwich
London SE10 9NF

tel: 0208 312 8558
fax: 0208 312 6632
email: info@shipshapenetwork.org.uk

Follow us